Finalists announced in the ECLD Sector Awards
The Sector > Quality > In The Field > Finalists announced in the ECLD Sector Awards

Finalists announced in the ECLD Sector Awards

by Freya Lucas

April 09, 2024

Child Australia, on behalf of its collaborating partners, has named the finalists in the prestigious 2024 WA Early Childhood Learning and Development (ECLD) Sector Awards.


“Alongside collaborating partners REED WA, Wanslea, Goodstart, MercyCare, The Y WA and Meerilinga, we’re excited to announce these exceptional finalists from hundreds of nominations from across the state,” Child Australia CEO Tina Holtom said. 


“Each nominee deserves recognition, and we extend our heartfelt gratitude to all who dedicated their time to submitting exceptional nominations. We rise in lifting others, so it was wonderful to see the significant increase in nominations for this year’s awards.”


The ECLD Awards serve as a platform to recognise and celebrate the exceptional contributions of individuals and organisations who have demonstrated unwavering commitment to delivering high quality outcomes for children and families.


24 finalists were selected by an independent panel, who faced a challenging task in assessing an “overwhelming” number of nominations. 


The Hon. Sabine Winton MLA, WA’s Minister for Early Childhood Education will announce the winners of the awards at a ceremony to be held in the Pan Pacific Hotel Perth on 4 May. 


“Early Childhood workers play such an important role in positive early childhood development and building the foundation for our children’s well-being and success,” Minister Winton said. 


“The Cook Government acknowledges their invaluable contribution to our community, and I congratulate each and every nominee for their outstanding work and dedication. (Our) Government is proud to support these awards”, she added. 


As well as the honour of being recognised, finalists will each receive tickets to the prestigious awards evening, complimentary entry to the Early Childhood Learning & Development (ECLD) Immersion Unplugged professional learning experience, and cash rewards.


Award winners will receive an additional $1,500 cash prize. 


The 2024 WA ECLD Sector Awards are proudly sponsored by the Department of Communities, collaborating partners, and newcomers Insight Education, Save Our Service and SNAICC. 


A full list of finalists appears below: 


Outstanding Early Childhood Educator Award finalists


Ruta Zegeye (Leederville Early Childhood Centre)

Lisa Humphreys (Meerilinga Children and Community Services Beechboro)

Laura Van Duin (North Fremantle School of Early Learning)


Excellence in ECEC Leadership Award finalists


Donna Carey (Flying Start DCU)

Ana Hooper (Sparx Early Learning Centre)

Kelli Gander (Ruth Landau Harp Early Learning)


Service excellence in Partnerships with Families, Communities and Schools Award finalists


Goodstart Early Learning Bertram

Brooke Maynard (One Tree Millars Well Children’s Service)

Goodstart Early Learning Girrawheen


Excellence in Best Practise Award finalists


Canningvale PreKindy

Meerilinga Woodvale Early Learning Program

Goodstart Early Learning Ballajura


Excellence in Supporting Child Development Award finalists


Goodstart Early Learning Baldivis

Goodstart Early Learning Warnbro

Goodstart Early Learning Port Kennedy


Outstanding Commitment to Reconciliation and Cultural Responsiveness Award finalists


Goodstart Early Learning Perth Kaadidjiny Maya

Meerilinga Beechboro Early Learning Program

Goodstart Early Learning Parmelia


Excellence in Outdoor Learning Award finalists


Lisa Vreeken (Canning Vale PreKindy)

Mamta Nair (Eco Early Learning and Bush Kinder – Langford Campus)

Kristen McPhail (Pachamama Early Education and Childcare)


The WA ECEC Recognition Award Finalists


Chloe Taylor (Nido Early School Baldivis East)

Rosina Mastrolembo (Brockman Community Centre)

Rachael Vessey-Scott (Curtin University Early Learning Centre)


Learn more about the Awards here.

Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button