Khalifa International Award for Early Learning opens
The Sector > Quality > In The Field > Khalifa International Award for Early Learning opens with global call for nominations

Khalifa International Award for Early Learning opens with global call for nominations

by Freya Lucas

October 16, 2023
Khalifa International Award for Early Learning

The Khalifa International Award for Early Learning 2024 (KIAEL) has launched its second edition, inviting visionary educators, researchers, and organisations from around the world to submit their pioneering initiatives in early childhood education. 


KIAEL’s overarching mission is to promote research and development while enriching the culture of excellence and innovation in early childhood education worldwide. 


The award seeks to create a platform for the discovery and recognition of research, programmes, methodologies, and advanced teaching practices. It also aims to honour distinguished educators and activate the role of educational institutions, centres, and companies specialising in early childhood education.


US $200,000 in total prize money to be awarded to four KIAEL 2024 winning entries across two categories – Best Programmes, Curricula, Teaching Methodologies and Practices and Best Research and Studies.


Each category will see the selection of two winners by a distinguished panel of academics, who will rigorously evaluate submissions based on criteria such as innovativeness, importance, impact, methodological rigor, and feasibility/sustainability.


Individuals, teams, or organisations with a passion for early childhood education are invited to submit their entries by January 12th, 2024. Entries should be a maximum of ten pages in length and accompanied by a concise abstract of no more than 300 words, briefly outlining the programme or research essence and its alignment with the award’s criteria. 


Following the resounding success of its inaugural edition, which saw four deserving winners emerge from a competitive pool of over 300 submissions across 61 countries, KIAEL is set to build on its legacy of excellence. 


In the 2023 edition, winners included South Africa’s Data Drive2030, the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), Morocco’s Zakoura Foundation, and Professor Laura Justice from the USA, who were celebrated for their remarkable research papers, innovative programmes, and teaching methodologies.


“Winners of the KIAEL 2023 set the bar high for this prestigious initiative,” Dr. Steven Barnett, KIAEL Awarding Committee member said. 


“Their groundbreaking work has not only been recognised, but has also inspired a global community of educators, researchers, and practitioners to strive for excellence in early learning. Their contributions are aligned with the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goal #4, which aims to ensure that, by 2030, all children have access to quality early childhood development, care, and pre-primary education, setting a solid foundation for their future.”


To be part of the global movement shaping the future of early learning, applicants should submit their entries before the submission deadline by visiting the official KIAEL website at 

Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button