Federal Government announces Early Years Strategy and National Summit
The Sector > Workforce > Advocacy > Federal Government announces Early Years Strategy and National Summit

Federal Government announces Early Years Strategy and National Summit

by Freya Lucas

November 18, 2022

The Federal Government announced it will develop a Commonwealth Early Years Strategy, which aims to create a new integrated, holistic, whole-of-government approach to ensure children aged five years and below have the best start at life in their critical early years of development.


Federal Minister for Social Services Amanda Rishworth will lead development of the Strategy in partnership with Federal Minister for Early Childhood Education Dr Anne Aly.


The Strategy will be developed through extensive consultation and stakeholder engagement, commencing with a National Early Years Summit to be held on Friday 17 February 2023 in Parliament House.


Around 100 attendees will be invited to the Summit in the Great Hall, where Minister Rishworth and Dr Aly, along with all relevant Departments including Health, Education, Attorney-Generals and the National Indigenous Australians Agency, along with the Treasury and the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet will speak.


Minister Rishworth said a total of $4.2 million would be invested over 18 months until 2024 to support the development of the Strategy.


“More than any other time in life, the early years are a time when we can positively influence life outcomes. After all, the biggest area of brain development occurs before children turn five,” Minister Rishworth said.


“It’s time we end the isolated policy approach and leverage the mountain of evidence that exists to best support our children.” 


“This is about ensuring all Australian children get the best start in life no matter where they live or their background,” Dr Aly added. 


“A lot goes into raising a happy and healthy child, that’s why we want to hear from families, early childhood educators and other experts at the Summit.” 


There will be many opportunities for all Australians, including children and families, to help shape the Strategy through surveys, public submissions, roundtables, local engagement and consultation from January 2023.


A new 14-member expert Advisory Panel has also been established to inform the development of Strategy. The Advisory Panel will support the work of a Steering Committee designed to bring together all areas of Government.


Its membership includes:


  • Professor Sharon Goldfeld
  • Anne Hollonds
  • Catherine Liddle
  • Georgie Dent
  • Professor Fiona Stanley
  • Penny Dakin
  • Sylvana Mahmic
  • Jay Weatherill
  • Matthew Cox
  • Dr Helen Milroy
  • Samantha Page
  • Jamie Crosby
  • Emma Watkins 
  • Amanda Walsh 


More information about the Early Years Strategy is available at the Department of Social Services website.


Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button