Stitt to oversee expanded reform agenda in early learning as Vic Cabinet reshuffles
The Sector > Policy > Politics > Stitt to oversee expanded reform agenda in early learning as Vic Cabinet reshuffles

Stitt to oversee expanded reform agenda in early learning as Vic Cabinet reshuffles

by Freya Lucas

June 28, 2022

Victoria’s Minister for Early Childhood Ingrid Stitt will retain her portfolio and oversee an expanded reform agenda in early learning as the Minister for Early Childhood and Pre-Prep while also remaining the Minister for Workplace Safety.


This announcement was made following a meeting of the Parliamentary Labor Party held late last week in the wake of news that four Victorian senior ministers will resign at the next state election. 


Current Victorian Deputy Premier and Education Minister James Merlino will join Health Minister Martin Foley, Police Minister Lisa Neville and Sports Minister Martin Pakula on the backbench until November when they will exit parliament. 


Jacinta Allan is the new Deputy Premier, while Member for Pascoe Vale Lizzie Blandthorn has been named as the Minister for Planning, also taking on responsibility for government business in the Legislative Assembly as Leader of the House. 


Natalie Hutchins, Member for Sydenham, has taken on the Education portfolio and is also now the Minister for Women. 


Member for Bundoora and former Speaker Colin Brooks is Minister for Child Protection and Family Services and Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers, while Member for Oakleigh Steve Dimopoulos is the Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events and Minister for Creative Industries. 


Sonya Kilkenny, Member for Carrum, is the Minister for Corrections, Minister for Youth Justice, Minister for Victim Support and Minister for Fishing and Boating. Member for Eastern Victoria Shing is the Minister for Water, Minister for Regional Development and Minister for Equality. 


Jacinta Allan will add overseeing Commonwealth Games Delivery to her responsibilities. Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council Jaclyn Symes remains Attorney General and Minister for Emergency Services. 


Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council Gayle Tierney will add Agriculture to her existing responsibilities for Training and Skills and Higher Education, while Treasurer Tim Pallas adds Trade to his duties as Minister for Economic Development and Minister for Industrial Relations. 


Anthony Carbines will become Minister for Police, Minister for Crime Prevention and Minister for Racing and Ben Carroll becomes the Minister for Industry Support and Recovery and Minister for Business Precincts and remains Minister for Public Transport and Minister for Roads and Road Safety. 


In addition to her existing responsibilities for Employment, Innovation, Medical Research and the Digital Economy, Resources and Small Business, Jaala Pulford will take carriage of the government’s landmark Sick Pay Guarantee program. 


Ros Spence adds Prevention of Family Violence to her portfolios of Multicultural Affairs, Community Sport and Youth.


Ministers were sworn into new portfolios yesterday. For a full list of portfolio assignments, please see here. 

Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button