Higher education policy leaders appointed to guide in tertiary and qualifications space

Higher education policy leaders appointed to guide in tertiary and qualifications space

by Freya Lucas

June 30, 2021

A distinguished group of higher education policy leaders have been appointed to provide expert advice to the Government on maintaining and improving the quality and standards of Australia’s higher education and research, including in the field of early childhood education and care (ECEC).


Professor Steve Chapman CBE, Vice-Chancellor and President of Edith Cowan University, has been named as the new chair of the Higher Education Standards Panel, with the following individuals appointed as members: 



Two previous members were reappointed:



The new appointees join existing panel members Dr David Perry, Vice President Academic, Alphacrucis College, and Ms Kadi Taylor, Head – Strategic Engagement and Government Relations, Navitas.


The panel is expected to provide advice on a range of important higher education issues including transparency in admissions, the quality of online and mixed-mode courses and reducing the regulatory burden on higher education providers Minister for Education and Youth Alan Tudge said.


“I also want them to ensure that we have appropriate standards in place to support student mental health and wellbeing and to meet the needs of students with a disability,” he added.


The members of the panel bring a wealth of experience and insight into the delivery of higher education and Minister Tudge said he looked forward to working with them over the next three years.


In making the announcement the minister thanked outgoing panel members including the outgoing Chair Professor Emeritus Ian O’Connor AC, for their service to higher education, which “has been much appreciated”.