New leadership team to drive future directions for tertiary ECEC education in Australia

by Freya Lucas

August 31, 2020

Federal Minister for Education Dan Tehan has announced the appointment of a new Chief Executive Officer to Australia’s independent national quality assurance and regulatory agency for higher education, the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA).


TEQSA is Australia’s independent national quality assurance and regulatory agency for higher education, protecting student interests and the reputation of Australia’s higher education sector through “a proportionate, risk-reflective approach to quality assurance that supports diversity, innovation and excellence”.


Alistair Maclean has been appointed as the CEO, having most recently been the chief executive of Independent Broad-based Anti-Corruption Commission in Victoria (IBAC). He has previously held a range of roles, including as a senior executive at an ASX-listed copper and gold producer, adviser to the Prime Minister (2007), and Australian Ambassador to Laos (2004-2007).


Mr Tehan said Mr Maclean’s experience would extend TEQSA’s ability to support the higher education sector as it confronts a range of issues, noting that Mr Maclean “will drive forward TEQSA’s important work to ensure the quality and reputation of higher education in Australia”.


Alongside Mr Maclean’s appointment,  Mr Tehan also announced the appointment of three new members to the Higher Education Standards Panel, which works closely with TEQSA and provides advice to the minister on higher education and research.


Professor Steve Chapman CBE (Vice-Chancellor, Edith Cowan University), Ms Kadi Taylor (Head of Strategic Engagement, Navitas), and Dr David Perry (Vice President Academic, Alphacrucis College) will join seven existing members on the advisory body.


“The new members will expand the skills and experience of the panel, by providing senior strategic insights into university administration and in-depth understanding of the issues affecting independent non-university higher education providers. I congratulate the new members on their appointment,” Mr Tehan said.