2018 Victorian Early Years Awards | The Sector
The Sector > Workforce > Leadership > Victorian Early Years Awards winners announced

Victorian Early Years Awards winners announced

by Freya Lucas

October 24, 2018

Winners of the 2018 Victorian Early Years Awards were announced yesterday at the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, with winners chosen from a shortlist of 18 finalists, six organisations, and one individual early childhood teacher (ECT).


The winners of the Government run awards were recognised and celebrated for their achievements and contributions to the Victorian early childhood education and care (ECEC) sector.


Nicole Bechaz from Banyan Fields Kindergarten was named ECT of the Year for her work leading a team that supports more than 150 children, many with additional needs.



The inaugural Emeritus Professor Collette Tayler Excellence in Educational Leadership Award was presented to Community Kinders Plus for its leading learning and teaching practices that support children experiencing disadvantage at services across Frankston and the Mornington Peninsula.


The leadership award was introduced this year to recognise the late Emeritus Professor Collette Tayler for her significant contributions to the ECEC field.


Victorian Minister for Early Childhood Education Jenny Mikakos presented the Minister’s Award to the Foundation House Hume Refugee Early Years Cluster, led by the Victorian Foundation for Survivors of Torture Inc.


The Minister’s award celebrated a collaborative project between Foundation House, Hume City Council and 10 diverse early years centres and agencies to improve the inclusion of families and children of refugee backgrounds in early years services.


Other winners include:


  • Improving Access and Participation in Early Learning Award: Finding Your Voice, Debney Meadows Primary
  • Supporting Parents to Build their Capacity and Confidence Award: Dandy Pals Playgroup: Step Into Kinder Program, Dandenong Primary School
  • Creating Collaborative Community Partnerships Award Community Connect, Traralgon East Community Centre
  • Promoting Children’s Health and Wellbeing Award: Kingsbury Play Map Project, City of Darebin


For more details on the 2018 Victorian Early Years Awards, visit www.education.vic.gov.au/veya.


Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button