Historic preschool investment from NSW Government
The Sector > Economics > Affordability & Accessibility > Regional preschools in NSW receive ‘historic investment’ from Government

Regional preschools in NSW receive ‘historic investment’ from Government

by Freya Lucas

February 19, 2024

The NSW Government has announced 49 new public preschools will be built in regional locations over the next three years as part of the broader $769 million investment to build 100 new public preschools co-located at public primary schools by 2027, including building preschools at new public primary schools.


The new preschools will be in a variety of locations including the South Coast, the Hunter, Illawarra, Mid North Coast, New England, Southern NSW, Northern Rivers, Far West, Riverina, South-West Slopes and Central West regions.


“Postcodes should not act as a barrier to accessing the best start in life and every child should have access to high quality resources from a young age, including having access to preschool,” Prue Car, Minister for Education and Early Learning said.


The Government hopes that co-locating public preschools with existing schools will ensure children are ready for kindergarten, help busy working families with cost-of-living pressures, and avoid the double drop off, making the transition to school as seamless as possible.


Sites were selected by a NSW Department of Education Panel, overseen by an independent chair and probity advisor, based on rigorous assessment criteria which considered multiple factors, including:


  • Educational need;
  • Child development and socioeconomic data;
  • Projected preschool demand;
  • Infrastructure feasibility; and
  • Insights gained through consultation with industry and stakeholders


The NSW Government has also committed up to $29.4 million to expand the number of early childhood workers in NSW through a scholarship program, which has seen a record number of applications. 


“We have been listening to and learning from families, communities and expert educators and teachers as we work towards universal preschool for every child in NSW,” Tara Moriarty, Minister for Regional NSW said.


“This is a long-term commitment, and we will work with the whole ECEC sector to support quality, equity, and access in a range of settings so that every child gets a strong start in life and learning.”


A full list of regional and remote locations appears below: 


  • Wollongbar Public School
  • Cessnock Public School
  • Ellalong Public School
  • Kearsley Public School
  • Nulkaba Public School
  • Boorowa Central School
  • Moss Vale Public School
  • Bomaderry Public School
  • Deniliquin South Public School
  • Taree Public School
  • Moorland Public School
  • Tacking Point Public School
  • Greenwell Point Public School
  • Sanctuary Point Public School
  • Hillvue Point Public School
  • Morgan Street Public School
  • Beelbangera Public School
  • Hanwood Public School
  • Leeton Public School
  • Parkview Public School
  • Toomelah Public School
  • Warialda Public School
  • Parkes East Public School
  • Bowraville Central School
  • Jindabyne Public School
  • Bourke Public School
  • Menindee Public School


Regional metropolitan locations


  • Kurri Kurri Public School
  • Weston Public School
  • Umina Beach Public School
  • Booragul Public School
  • Teralba Public School
  • Tenambit Public School
  • Queanbeyan East Public School
  • Queanbeyan South Public School
  • Barrack Heights Public School
  • Lake Illawarra South Public School
  • Maryland Public School
  • Shortland Public School
  • Berkeley West Public School
  • Cringila Public School
  • Hayes Park Public School
  • Lake Heights Public School
  • Tuggerawong Public School
  • Gillieston Public School


Previously announced


  • Nowra – new public school
  • Lennox Head Public School
  • Albury Thurgoona – new public school
  • Wilton Junction School

Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button