ACECQA appoints six new board members
The Sector > Workforce > Leadership > ACECQA appoints six new board members

ACECQA appoints six new board members

by Freya Lucas

November 20, 2023

The Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA) has recently welcomed six new Board members all of whom “bring a wealth of skills and experience suitable to their responsibility to set ACECQA’s strategic direction.”


The ACECQA Board is appointed by, and responsible to, the Education Ministers for the overall strategy, governance and performance of ACECQA. The responsibilities of the Board include:


  • Providing strategic direction and assisting management in the development and monitoring of strategic and performance objectives required to effectively and efficiently implement the functions of ACECQA 
  • Overseeing the ongoing performance of ACECQA consistent with its enabling legislation
  • Providing policy advice about future directions and making recommendations to the Education Ministers for implementing and administering the National Quality Framework (NQF)
  • Guiding and monitoring ACECQA’s performance against its strategic plan and operational work plan.


Board Members can serve two three-year terms on ACECQA’s Board of 13 members, with a member from each state and territory and four members nominated by the Australian Government.


The six new members are: 


  • Mrs Ros Cornish
  • Mr John Cossons
  • Ms Carmen Garcia
  • Ms Barbara Hingston AM
  • Mr Brad Jolly
  • Dr Jessa Rogers


Other ACECQA Board Members include Chair Annette Whitehead, Dr Anne Glover AO (Deputy Chair), Mark Campling, Akiko Jackson, Sandra Lambert AM, Professor Marc de Rosnay, and Madeleine Smith.


Learn more about the functions of the ACECQA Board here

Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button