Yasmine O’Brien named ACT early childhood teacher of the year
The Sector > Provider > General News > Yasmine O’Brien named ACT early childhood teacher of the year

Yasmine O’Brien named ACT early childhood teacher of the year

by Freya Lucas

November 06, 2023

Yasmine O’Brien, an early childhood teacher (ECT) at the O’Connor Cooperative School, has been named as ECT of the Year in the 2023 ACT Public Education Awards.


The awards recognise the outstanding dedication of the ACT’s public education staff and volunteers, and were announced on World Teacher’s Day. 


“These individuals continue to go above and beyond, ensuring that our children receive a stellar education,” said Territory Minister for Education and Youth Affairs Yvette Berry.


Ms O’Brien received the award for her ability to create a positive, constructive and caring learning environment in her class, and for her commitment to helping each child in her care to succeed by providing a welcoming learning environment that celebrates care, family, diversity, inclusion, children’s voice, creativity and wonder.


Her enthusiasm and encouragement for all students to enjoy and engage positively in their learning has helped increase students’ curiosity, thinking, agency, and a love of learning.


Ms O’Brien was a dual award winner in 2023, also securing the Director-General’s Award for Excellence.


The full list of categories and winners are:


Early Childhood Teacher of The Year

Yasmine O’Brien, O’Connor Cooperative School


Primary Teachers of the Year

Lee Hodges, Arawang Primary School
Tonia Davidson, Wanniassa School


Secondary Teacher of the Year

Courtney Bedford, Black Mountain School


School Leader of the Year

Jennifer Howard, Caroline Chisholm School


New Educator of the Year

Karen Walsh, Amaroo School


Education Support Person of the Year

Nicole Ratcliffe, Weetangera Primary School


School Support Person of the Year

Joseph Knezevic, Caroline Chisholm School


Outstanding Partnership of the Year

Head Start Pilot Program, Universal School Support


Excellence in Cultural Integrity

Birrigai First Nations Team, Birrigai Outdoor School


Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

Mita Pota, Gold Creek School


Allied Health Professional of the Year

Prudence Sheather, Mount Stromlo High School


Education Support Office Employee of the year

Georgia Nott Communication, Engagement and Government Support


Excellence in Innovation

Teaching and Leadership Team, Bonython Primary School


Volunteer of the year

Felicity Roantree, Red Hill Primary School


Director-General Award

Yasmine O’Brien, O’Connor Cooperative School


Learn more about the awards here

Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button