NSW Government to roll out 44 new OSHC hubs over 12 months to meet demand
The Sector > Economics > Affordability & Accessibility > NSW Government to roll out 44 new OSHC hubs over 12 months to meet demand

NSW Government to roll out 44 new OSHC hubs over 12 months to meet demand

by Freya Lucas

July 19, 2022

The NSW Government will open 44 new outside school hours care (OSHC) hubs across the state over the next 12 months to provide better access to before and after school care in schools.


Known as ‘hubs’, the purpose-built sites are part of the Government’s $40 million commitment to create more OSHC places, Minister for Education and Early Learning Sarah Mitchell explained. The state already has 47 hubs in use, with the new additions to tip the total over 90, catering for nearly 5,000 students. 


“We’ve delivered 47 hubs already and will roll out more than 90 in total around the state, providing facilities for up to 4,800 students,” Ms Mitchell said.


“Every hub includes a play space, offices, toilets and kitchens, allowing students to enjoy a safe and fun environment, whilst providing parents with the flexibility they need.”


Ten of the latest hubs have been temporarily redistributed to the North Coast to assist with flood recovery and provide accommodation for dislocated OSHC and preschool services.


The hubs are part of a broader $8.6 billion investment in school infrastructure over the next four years by the NSW Government, continuing its program to deliver 160 new and upgraded schools to support communities across NSW. 


This builds on the more than $9.1 billion invested in projects delivered since 2017, a program of $17.7 billion in public education infrastructure.


Schools with completed OSHC Hubs are as follows:


  1. Anna Bay Public School
  2. Austral Public School
  3. Bathurst Public School
  4. Baulkham Hills North Public School
  5. Beaumont Hills Public School
  6. Bletchington Public School
  7. Brighton Le Sands Public School
  8. Burwood Public School
  9. Calare Public School
  10. Camden Public School
  11. Carlingford Public School
  12. Crestwood Public School
  13. Cronulla Public School
  14. Eglinton Public School
  15. Epping Public School
  16. Ettalong Public School
  17. Faulconbridge Public School
  18. Glendore Public School
  19. Gulgong Public School
  20. Gymea North Public School
  21. Haberfield Public School
  22. Heathcote Public School
  23. Hinchinbrook Public School
  24. Jasper Road Public School
  25. Jerrabomberra Public School
  26. Kariong Public School
  27. Kellyville Ridge Public School
  28. Kelso Public School
  29. Macarthur Girls High School
  30. Madang Avenue Public School
  31. Mawarra Public School
  32. Molong Central School
  33. Murray Farm Public School
  34. Newbridge Heights Public School
  35. Newington Public School
  36. Northbridge Public School
  37. Northmead Public School
  38. Quakers Hill East Public School
  39. Ringrose Public School
  40. Rosemeadow Public School
  41. St Andrews Public School
  42. Tamworth South Public School
  43. The Oaks Public School
  44. Thornton Public School
  45. Valentine Public School
  46. Wellington Public School
  47. Winston Heights Public School

Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button