Australia Day Honours List sees Mrs Lee Musumeci recognised
The Sector > Workforce > Leadership > Australia Day Honours List sees Mrs Lee Musumeci recognised

Australia Day Honours List sees Mrs Lee Musumeci recognised

by Jason Roberts

January 28, 2020

This year’s Australia Day Honours List saw Mrs Lee Musumeci, a Western Australia (WA) based Early Childhood Education and Care leader, awarded the Public Service Medal (PSM) for outstanding public service to early childhood education.


Mrs Musumeci, who started her career as a teacher, has since worked tirelessly to improve educational opportunities and outcomes for children in WA, especially those that come from a place of vulnerability and disadvantage. 


In 2003 Mrs Musumeci accepted the position of Principal at Challis Community Primary School where she still works today.


Whilst leading Challis Community School, Mrs Musumeci has implemented a number of important initiatives that emphasise the value of inclusive early childhood education and school readiness including one program that has now been rolled out to 21 vulnerable communities across the state and another that has established professional learning teams. 


She was also responsible for overseeing the amalgamation of Challis Early Childhood Education Centre and Challis Primary School.


Another area of strength noted was Mrs Musumeci’s expertise in negotiating, maintaining and sourcing new opportunities for funding partnerships that have helped expand the work of the school into the community. 


Other notable mentions in the Australia Day honours list with connections to the early childhood education and care community include:


Mr Damian De Marco from New South Wales has been awarded the Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for his significant service to the community as a child safety advocate through his work as a Bravehearts Foundation Ambassador and community leader. Mr De Marco had previously been recognised as an ACT Local Hero at the 2015 Australian of the Year Awards.


Ms Deborah Niland from New South Wales has been awarded the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division for services to children’s literature having authored 11 books and illustrated over 50. Some examples of her work include It’s Bedtime William, Annie’s Chair, Old MacDonald had an Emu and ABC of Monsters


To review the full list of 2020 honours please click here

Download The Sector's new App!

ECEC news, jobs, events and more anytime, anywhere.

Download App on Apple App Store Button Download App on Google Play Store Button